h1

A favour for a favour. Yoonited preview.

May 1, 2011

Howdy Gooners! Is there a game on today?

Following Chavs’ lucky win against the Totts, it has to be said that the things are getting quite interesting at the top of the table: a win today will see us just six points off the top, three points off second placed Chelsea and pretty much guarantee our top four spot, given the Sp*ds pathetic goal difference of +7 compared to our +31. Just to illustrate, if you take today’s game out of the equation, they would need to win their remaining games by at least four goal margin with us suffering three defeats of the same proportions just to get level on points and goal difference to have a chance of beating us to the top four finish.

But hey, let’s not get ahead of ourselves, shall we? We have quite a game to play today before the above calculation can be applied and it really does not get much harder than that. The timing is also less than perfect: with us being unable to buy a win whether we play good or not and them hitting the rich vein of form as well as being well motivated to keep the daylight between them and Chavs to get closer to clinching their record-breaking 19th league title, the odds are well stacked up against us and our win would make a few betting people who choose to wager using their hearts rather than heads a good few bob richer. I am not a betting man, but just a quick look at a random comparison site tells a bit of a story: Arsenal 13/8,Β  ManYoo 2, draw 12/5 (apparently the best deals at the moment of writing). Given that the betting companies are plentiful and don’t show any signs of going out of business they must be doing something right, wouldn’t you agree? Still, if it was all that simple and predictable we would just check the odds on offer and not bother watching the games!

The title of today’s article is not much of a mystery for these who have read my Monday’s post. For those who have not, a brief explanation: the tone of today’s post would be a whole lot different if it was not for the Chelsea’s sudden rise, as it would be all about watching-from-behind-the-sofa panic stations as Yoonited would try to win the league at our place to be the first team to achieve that at The New Home of Football. Seriously, this does not even bear thinking about and since we are a classy outfit, it is only polite to return the favour by stuffing the Mancs, however unlikely it may sound. ABU!

Our supersub, (Red) Devil Slayer. Just in case.

Onto the game itself: given our recent form, OGL faces the gargantuan task of lifting the team in order for them to stand up to Yoonited and make it look respectable, preferably get a respectable result, maybe even an unlikely win. While doing the legwork for this post, I thought of including some rousing battle speech as the motto. Whilst I could not really find anything that was not stupidly cheesy and over the top, I have found this instead:

‘Today we are gathered here to battle. Regrettable, isn’t it, but sometimes, you know, life is like that. You have to do something you don’t want to do, just because someone is telling you to do it. I don’t want to be here myself, but my mother told me that I’d better make it a reasonable show of it all, so here we go then’

The above quote is an ‘Easter egg’Β  from a strategy game. Come to think of it, it’s funny because it’s true: I think it’s safe to say that both the players and the manager would rather be somewhere else, but sometimes life is like that. Win, lose or draw, they will need to go through the 90 or so minutes of play in front of their own increasingly disappointed and expectant crowd and then be judged upon their performance and result. Whilst I am prepared to risk saying that the fans may appreciate the genuine tooth and nail effort whatever the final score, or at least if it is respectable, I don’t even want to begin to think what may happen if we are served the same turd sandwich we had to chew on more than once already this season. The Roman Colosseum could accommodate fifty thousand spectators and there were no ‘home’ and ‘away’ sections, just a bunch of folk who could decide whether you lived or died, depending on how well you did. Obviously, we are more civilised than letting in the hungry lions on the pitch these days, but you get my drift, don’t you?

All I can ask for is so that the team would fight them on the beaches, on the landing grounds, in the fields and in the streets… Er, scratch that, I reckon fighting them on the pitch will do! And I am asking the people lucky enough to be inside the ground to do their bit for the full 90 minutes and give the team all the support you possibly can. If not for their sake, then just for the sake of your clear conscience, so that you could say that you gave them an honest chance. Sure, if they don’t give their all, then by any means boo them off the pitch with all your might, but not before the final whistle. Don’t make it hostile for your own, make it so for the visitors, no need to be hospitable here…

Let them feel that they are in hell and it’s us who are the devils!

Come on you Gunners!

33 comments

  1. Morning SUGA, nice one – Ehat does OGL stand for, me being a newbie and all that?

    πŸ™‚


  2. OGL is for Our Glorious Leader – coined that myself, it’s firmly tongue in cheek and pretty double-edged (both praise and the opposite, whenever applicable) if you get my drift πŸ˜‰

    has to be said that a few bloggers adapted it too!

    and oh, since the theme of the day is ‘a favour for a favour’:

    http://1rico.wordpress.com/2011/05/01/carling-cup-final-was-not-important-three-points-today-are/


  3. Ah, no wonder i didn’t work that one out πŸ˜‰

    Glorious, Leader – not two words i would associate with AW πŸ˜‰

    Thanks re the link πŸ™‚


  4. Too many smileys rico…..


  5. rico,

    I was born and raised in the former Eastern Bloc country when the system was seriously on the wane and we would rip the piss out of this kind of pompous phrases left, right and centre…

    funnily enough, he has all the tools in place to be glorious again πŸ˜‰

    and there is no such thing as too many smileys!


  6. SUGA – thats one thing about the blog world, we get all nations together for one cause, the arsenal, it’s great.

    wenger is right in many ways, we are very close to being great, if he makes three signings this summer we will be – 4 would be perfect though

    CH
    CM
    Goal Scorer

    Add to that, Lansbury and Bartley, maybe Chuks and Afobe in the squad and all will look so much better…


  7. I am in the ‘5 out, 5 in, 3 promoted’ camp…

    but what you are suggesting is a good base and I would not be unhappy with that a whole lot πŸ˜‰


  8. I want more than five out – Nik, Eboue, Rosicky, Squilli, Randall, Eastmond, Almunia Arshavin and if Cesc wants out, then he can go too and if we can get Buffon, Fabianski can go πŸ™‚

    Your site on NN yet SUGA?


  9. tried to sort this out, but I have either not done something like I should have or they would not have me πŸ˜‰

    my dream list is:

    OUT: Almunia, D******n, Diaby, Rosicky, Bendtner

    IN: Subotic, Baines, Rodwell, Hazard, Benzema (I know)

    LOAN OUT: Gibbs (see if he can last a season injury free, get rid if not)

    PROMOTED: Frimpong, Lansbury, JET

    not too sure about Buffon, back injury is a pretty bad thing for a GK, career ending if you ask me…

    he would not leave Juve when they got demoted to Serie B, there is a reson why he is available, risky stuff, that πŸ˜‰


  10. Where went my comments? If we play pragmatically, we may get a good result. We have to play the way we did against les Chavs last Xmas. That was mature football at its best. In other stuff, Wenger has to sign 5 good players to deserve the title OGL! Then promote Cruise(yes cruise), Bartley and Lansbury. These lads will do well alongside established players. We have the potential to emulate the Giggs, Becks, Neville etc era which built a platform for Uniteds dominance. I aint good in naming names like G-star, you know. But there are very good players who would jump ship to play for the Great Arsenal. It is left to Wenger to make that a possibility. Project youth would have been perfect, if a slice of experience was added. Its also good that the British youth players here are showing great potential, they might be the DNA of this team. That ends my post.


  11. More like OUR SLEEPING LEADER. Oh and please I even meant 5 world beaters and 1 average joe and our youth for the squad. So thats 9 players.


  12. SUGA, i had to keep on at them – evey other day i sent their form in and eventually….. keep trying, you deserve a wider audience.. πŸ™‚


  13. Wish you the best. Why do you think I come here everyday? Cuz you have potential to be a good blogger. :8


  14. I keep forgetting Frimpong, had he not been injured he would have meant no Denilson, i’m sure πŸ™‚

    Diaby – i’d give him til Christmas to see if he can stay fit, but, if he goes then i won’t shed a tear either..
    Gibbs – agree, injury prone and a bit lightweight, send him to Bolton…


  15. Hi santos, that average squad player, we need a Grimandi kind of signing πŸ™‚


  16. Hey rico… An average joe who is effective when called upon,you know


  17. Spot on Santos – Grimandi πŸ™‚

    I’m being serious, i liked him – not his first season but he grew, never afraid to stick the boot in and took no s**t either… πŸ™‚


  18. Santos & rico,

    thank you for the kind words of praise, as you know, I aim to please, even if the stuff I say is a bit on the gallows humour side πŸ˜‰

    I’ll take your advice and keep on trying, I have returned to blogging less than a month ago, I think I will need to set up a FB page and the Twitter account as well, I can see that it helps a whole lot!

    as for Diaby, well, I am of the opinion that enough is enough, he is one to be made an example of, I know it sounds cruel but I reckon it’s enough of the carrot nonsense!

    the players with the correct attitude want to see these lazy buggers to be brought into the account, I think Theo and Sagna came the closest to saying that outright…

    back in a few, my mates came to my quarters from London, it’s time to hit the beach, then we will either come back home to watch the game or go to the pub…

    laters πŸ˜‰


  19. After the game then…….


  20. catch up later then you two πŸ™‚


  21. πŸ™‚


  22. Santos, if you get lonely, pop and see us on highbury house πŸ™‚


  23. HooooooooooooooooooooooRaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhh πŸ™‚


  24. GET IN!

    writing a review should be an absolute pleasure πŸ˜‰


  25. I bet SUGA, it’s been a long time hasn’t it 😦


  26. Hmmm at last then… Yes we won, but it makes you rue about missed chances. Ramsey will be better than Wilshere who is already great. He is a total footballer. Lets sprinkle experienced players around our lads who have Arsenal DNA, its going to yield success. THANK GOD Ramsey is back.


  27. oh well…

    quite frankly, when we lost the CC I knew we were in trouble, but when we drew against Blackburn, I thought to myself, excuse me French, ‘Fuck this shit’ and that coincides with me starting blogging again…

    don’t get this wrong, I knew all I co do from that moment onwards is laugh and I love a good laugh πŸ˜‰

    I love the club and I see there is so much potential to do so much better on many fronts, but I just don’t feel there is a visionary in DD’s mould to take it forward and if Stan can add 2+2 he would hire him to be the link between himself, AU and Wenger, an ultimate win-win situation…

    to illustrate, let me post this video, please listen to what he says:

    legend! imagine the gap in mindset and approach, if it was not for people like DD, there would be no Premier League as it is…

    and by the way: go Szczesny!

    and Ramsey! eat this, Slur AF! πŸ˜†


  28. See you soon guys/gals – off for my dinner and a relaxing evening with a big fat grin on my face πŸ™‚


  29. enjoy!

    nothing tastes better than THE victory feast!


  30. 30th.


  31. we’ve got a case for celebration then!

    I am setting up the FB page and Twitter account as we speak πŸ˜‰


  32. Good publicity then. That is progressive! g-luck


  33. but the FB is really something else, you would think it’s easy!

    if it all worked properly, it probably would be πŸ˜†



Leave a Reply

