h1

The interview. Like father, like son?

April 27, 2011

Welcome back after the one day pause, it’s time to deliver the goods! Two days ago, I promised a rant and an interview before the weekend, when it will be all about the game against Yoonited – I am sure there will be plenty to write about with the fans, players and the managers talking about it or even not saying much or anything for that matter. In Poland they say that lack of occasion is also an occasion to down a bottle or two in celebration, so just to get you in that Polish celebratory-no-matter-what mood, I give you a nice piece of journalism which originates from my homeland.

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present you Messrs. Arkadiusz Bartosiak and Łukasz Klinke, the men behind the ‘Wywiadowcy’ (The Interviewers) website. Quite a read, worth learning my mother tongue in its own right! I don’t think I can introduce them any better than they already have themselves:

‘We are a rather quirky duo. Always together but also always apart at the same time. We differ in pretty much every aspect:  from the hair, through the women, the sizes, the ways, right to the everyday preferences. We can’t write about the similarities as these are boring and they don’t sell. We don’t know how to brag, even though it’s common knowledge that we are absolutely one of a kind. But if there is one thing that is definitely one of the kind, it’s our interviews we have been doing for a few years. Enjoy the read, but remember, these are not to be commented on. We don’t like the critique. And that’s what we have in common.’

Polish is fun, but not for the faint hearted...

Don’t you just love these fellas? Anyway, they were kind enough to allow me to translate and post the piece they did with our current goalkeeper Wojtek Szczesny and his dad, former Polish international, Maciej. For those who don’t know it yet, he used to play in goal as well, won a few trophies in his career and is generally a top bloke. Like father, like son? One can only hope…

The interview itself was published in the Polish edition of ‘PLAYBOY’ about a year ago, which should allow you some benefit of the hindsight. Enjoy!

‘He’s a horribly cheeky bugger, but a witty one at that, so he tends to get away with stuff’. Who said that and about whom?

W (with the look of mild terror in his eyes): Me? About dad?

M: If you even consider this, it means you have got cocky very quickly. I said that. About you.

W: When?

M: Six years ago in the ‘PLAYBOY’ interview. The ‘bugger’ bit was tongue-in-cheek and the ‘cheeky’ was more in the ‘clever’ sense. Being cheeky is a sign of intelligence, so it was a compliment afterall.

Has anything changed through the last six years?

M: He still is a cheeky bugger. And he seems to think that he CAN get away with stuff.

W: I gather you still like my jokes then?

M: I do, but I reckon you could be a touch less of a joker, especially towards your relatives like your father. You are twenty already.

And who were you when you were twenty?

M: A jolly dad. Not for long, as my daughter died in an accident. Luckily, I was fortunate enough to once again become a father. As far as my professional career is concerned, I would absolutely and wholeheartedly worship football. First thing I learned the hard way was that it was just a business. The fact that it is sometimes a well dodgy business in Poland made it even more painful. When I lost my little girl, it just got to me that it was the worst that could ever happen to me, hence I would not bow to any given schmuck. Only thanks to that I was able to keep my hands clean, despite having played in the Polish league all these years.

Did you dream of playing abroad?

M: For a long time I would think that playing for Widzew or Legia was my ceiling. However, once I managed a fairly decent game in the cup against Barcelona on their turf, I got this idea that it might be a good thing to leave. The problem is that back in those days in Poland it normally took about one year after the enquiries were made to find out about the interest lodged by a foreign outfit.

Times change. Wojtek knew about the interest from big clubs before any talks even began.

W. I knew about the first scouts being on their way before they came.

M: Or so you like to think. I sat down to talk to the guys representing four clubs just to find out that you have been watched for about a year and a half. They said it was obvious that you were a good athlete outright. They were scrutinising whether your form was stable and what your mentality was like. They wanted to see what you will do after conceding a few goals. And whether you will shake the opponent’s hand once that happens.

W: I don’t think it has that much relevance. It’s rather unimportant how the player acts before or after the game.

M: And I say you are rather wrong, son. Basic example: when we were in London, we met that Italian, one year your junior.

W: The one who was throwing up?

M: That’s our guy. He sat with us in the van and he was throwing up. Then he would throw up on the coach a little more. Guess what? He was not even allowed on the pitch. He watched the game from the stands. I felt sorry for him, I thought he could regain strength as he still has time. So I went there to speak to the Arsenal’s youth coach and I tried to talk him into giving the youngster a chance, given that everyone said he was some genius midfielder who could tie a tie with his feet. All I heard was ‘Maciek, we know what we are doing. It’s the third time he is here and the lad is always doing this. He can’t cope with the pressure. It’s not a case of motion sickness. If he can’t handle the pressure ahead of a friendly, what is he going to do if he is to score a penalty in the CL semi? Throw up. Or even die of a heart attack. We don’t run a crèche here. We can find thirty players like him. One phone call and they come on their knees. The difference is that they will get off these knees. And that Italian geezer will only get more limp.’

Was choosing the Arsenal always obvious from the start?

M: Wojtek was 16 years old back then, so the choice was mine and his mum’s. Obviously, he would have his say in all this, but there were no arguments. I am sure Bolton would count on Wojtek choosing them for being a smaller club with different aspirations and Wojtek having more of a chance to get into the first team. Reasons for decisions may vary with different people.

Especially when you see 40 year old Edwin van der Sar still going strong.

W: Dad still claims that he is good. Taking this into the account, perhaps one should consider a 45 year old goalie ‘young’.

M: Son, now you’ve got it all mixed up. You said dad claimed to be good. I only claim to be still young. As for the ‘good’ bit, it’s just what I am – it’s not a claim, it’s a fact.

W: I am talking pro football here…

M: Don’t you worry. Looking at Nalepa (Maciej Nalepa – Piast Gliwice GK) I am pretty confident I could still do it. Just to make it a contest, I would have to chop off my left leg, and I am not sure if I am prepared to go that far.

After moving to London, had Wojtek moved into a mansion like an Arsenal footballer should?

M: No mansions, no boarding houses or hotels. All the academy players live with families that are friendly with the club.

W: I used to live like that for about three years. I used to live with my mate from the club and his parents and then with a certain widow. I believe this was all right. Maybe I got lucky. According to the other lads there were some houses with pretty strict rules. They had to switch off the TV and PC at 10 PM, then go to bed. My places were fairly laid back.

M: Probably because you did not give anyone a reason to make it any different. I can assure you that if you were to return a few times in a row at 2 AM, sober or not, the club would be the first to know. Me and your mum the second shortly afterwards.

W: I can’t recall ever returning as early as that (laughs).

M: What did I tell you about him being the cheeky bugger?

We have asked Maciek what he was up to when he was 20. Time to find out what Wojtek will do in 25 years.

W. I will be the TV pundit for Channel 1 (laughs).

M: Now that’s witty!

W: I will certainly be taking care of my elderly parents as well.

M: Wonder who is going to pay you for that?

W: Will do it on the voluntary basis.

M: So, you will not be expecting profits then. That’s commendable. Should you choose to contribute as well, we will be very obliged.

Is there any envy between you two?

W: (smiles wryly) He won’t admit this, but I am sure he would love it to have it as good as me.

M: That would not worry me one bit. However, if I had it as good I wouldn’t know that it can be worse. Besides, being envious is somehow equal to that green-eyed monster thing.

W: Dad thinks of everything that way. I thought of that healthy competitive kind, not that typical Polish bitter stuff.

M: You’re right, everything can be fucked up in Poland. Even the envy. Sure I would prefer to start like Wojtek did. Even pitches, comfy boots and last, but definitely not least with good coaches. Believe me or not, I had the first proper GK training sessions at the age of thirty three. At Polonia Warsaw with Krzysztof Dowhan.

W: I wish I had my dad’s character. That’s my single ‘envy’ and I always wanted to be like him on the pitch. I watched him play and I was always impressed with his leadership skills. I also ‘envy’ the way he grabbed the chances he got. I got a better chance right from the off and I want to grab them as well as he did.

Which of the dad’s games was the most exciting?

W: It may seem strange, but I remember the game dad’s team played against GKS Katowice. We watched it on the telly with my brother (Janek) and mum was in the kitchen. At one point, dad made a brilliant save from a venomous shot. We went like ‘Mum! Come here! Dad has made an awesome save’ Moments later we changed the tune to ‘Mum, come here, dad is dead!’ Dad hit his head against the post and was knocked out cold.

M: I remember that. I really did hit that post hard.

How did the school mates treat Wojtek?

W: It was tough at times. Dad would change the club quite often and that did not sit well with some. When dad left Legia I had it easier than Janek as I was younger and I would get less grief than him. When I grew up, the matters were a bit more at ease. Besides, I was always taller than the others, so I could hold my own.

Did you know about daddy’s little trip to ‘Żyleta’ when he decided to single-handedly sort out the matter of his transfer to Widzew with the entire stand of Legia supporters?

W: I learned about this years later and from the press (laughs).

M: I did not really find it appropriate to brief the family, as they would certainly want to change my mind. I did it right, because I did it my way.

Did that help?

M: It did. I went there more or less three months after joining Widzew and it was OK almost the entire season. I say almost, as the things got quite heated after that memorable Legia-Widzew game, which ended 2:3. A few BOR boys had to spend the night outside our apartment in Warsaw. Mr Leszek Miller, then the head of the Polish Home Office is the one to thank for that. After the game, I called Mr Pawelec (Andrzej Pawelec – then the Widzew chairman) and said I wanted to go to Łódź to celebrate clinching the title, but the wife was staying at home and there were whispers about some nutters willing to blow up our place. Mr Miller overheard the conversation and said ‘Don’t worry Maciek, let me have your address and tell your Mrs to let the boys in for a wee every now and then. She can tell them to go home when she feels safe’. For the next 48 hours, there were some hot head Legia ultras coming to the area, but they gave it a rest in the end. None of them felt brave enough to take his chances with the BOR boys (laughs).

Do you mind being compared to dad?

W: I used to. Not so much the comparisons, as it’s only natural, but people not believing that I could have made it where I am on my own accord. I used to bother all this gossip.

M: They say I hooked you up not only with Arsenal but also got you that international cap.

W: During interviews some would ask me if dad called coach Smuda and insisted to select me to play for Poland. Now I can just laugh at that stupidity, but it felt dead serious when I was younger.

Did you learn how to marshal the defence from your dad?

W: Don’t think so. I learned the lingo from Legia GK, Andrzej Krzyształowicz. I stood behind the goal and heard everything. I would normally watch dad from the stands, so I could not have heard him all that well.

When in London, did you continue learning the lingo from Jens Lehmann?

M: Raus… Raus… (laughs). But seriously, he is an exceptionally nice guy. He was always great for us whenever we came to visit Wojtek at the club.

W: Picked up the first bits during my stay in Bolton, the rest came naturally.

Which one of you has the worse temper?

W: We are generally very similar, but… we don’t agree about a lot of things.

M: I can certainly get angrier, whereas Wojtek is much more whimsical.

W: Remember, it was not me who wanted to beat up other players during the game. Especially in the European cup game (Legia-Sampdoria game, Szczesny Sr. wanted to rough up Mancini, watch from 7:00 onwards).

M: So far. You have not played against the Italians too much as yet. Besides, we shall see what happens when you play Man City.

W: His son plays for Inter.

M: I would never have guessed he might have kids.

W: So far, I have only got three yellow cards. All of them for dissent. So, I don’t know how it is with the whole nerve business in the end.

M: I remember my inglorious ‘adventure’ with that East German ref. He was on my case throughout the game and I was a bit nervous. In the end, I smiled at him, nodded in agreement and uttered ‘Fuck off, you cunt’ in Polish at the same time.

Your dad was renowned for his conflicts with his team mates. Have you got that as well?

W: For me, the opinion of my team mates is often more important that the one of the coach. If the coach said I was lame, but the boys were of the opinion that I am very good and a joy to play with, I would believe them, not the coach. I am trying to be conflict-free.

M: This is nothing new. Your team mates always know better than the coach, as it’s them playing with you in the end, not him.

W: They know who is harder to score against, that’s only logical.

M: But some of my colleagues, apart from their sports knowledge would sell the games and were drinking MY future away. Hence my ‘cult’ status of someone prone to conflicts.

Your berating of the coaches was also a cult thing.

M: Nonsense. I never berated anybody. Perhaps Wójcik, but what kind of coach is he?

W: It’s not that easy to cross your boss in England. These who try usually don’t get first team opportunities. Even not shaking hands after the game has its consequences. You can get away with murder in Poland, not so much the case in England.

You said it yourself that it was easier to mouth off to your dad than your coach. You told the story about your training session…

W: Oh, and I have heard a thing or two from dad afterwards.

M: For being stupid. You don’t come out publicly with stuff like that. Besides, you were not mouthing off, but nagging ‘can’t do this, can’t do that… you play football all your life, unlike me…’

W: Dad tends to be too emotional about stuff. I got the right ol’ bollocking back then.

M: And I had realised that I love to work with kids, even if they have little talent. But not my own. My disappointment that they were not capable of doing something and couldn’t learn that in a snap despite their talent was unbearable. It would quickly make me angry, as I believed they did not have enough good will or that they could not be arsed. Never doubted the intelligence and talent… ‘can’t do this, can’t do that’

W: Perhaps it might just work if you explained it properly.

That’s when the father said to the son: ‘Forget the career. You’re tripping’. Has the father changed his opinion yet?

M: Not saying anything, but he’s still tripping.

W: The most important thing is that the family is with me all the way.

M: As long as you earn your keep (laughs).

Was that your last session together?

Both: Yep.

W: Six years ago.

Is your dad still giving you advice?

W: He’s played a bit, so he’s earned this right, But I am waiting to be in position to tell him ‘What do you know? I know better’. It’s a pity that you can’t find his cockups on YouTube.

M: Come over to mine. They’re all there on the VHS.

Is Maciek as critical towards you as he was towards himself?

W: Yes. We were scared of him (laughs). Remember the fuss you made so that we would wear the slippers?

M: Gentlemen asked you about sport.

We shall return to the subject of slippers

W: These days there is more praise than criticism.

Did you praise Janek after the game he played against Olimpia Warsaw?

M: The one when he conceded eight? Even if it was a 0:0 I would find something to pick on. That’s just me. Janek did not want to talk about it, so I kissed him goodbye and we left it at that. I am as proud of him as I am proud of Wojtek. It’s not about the professional pride, it’s about what kind of people they are.

What are your personal records in that department?

M: Sieben-Drei against Bayern Munich at Ł3. I guess L4 would have been better.

(Ł3 – Legia stadium at Łazienkowska 3, 1988, UEFA Cup, L4 is Polish for a sickie)

W: 0:4 against The Netherlands (Oct 2009, U-21 Euro qualifiers). It was horrible.

Has the skiing accident effectively ended Janek’s goalkeeping career?

M: I don’t think so. I reckon Janek is a bit less talented and does not quite have the physique. Apart from that, he is the best, most decent and trustworthy of all of us.

W: I have to tell him that, he won’t believe.

M: It’s not just my opinion, but also that of the more and less distant friends-and-relations. My opinion is that you have to be a bit of a SOB to be a good keeper and he just doesn’t have it in him. He is not a great athlete, never was and never will be, but he is successful in other areas and he still does some sports for fun at Gwardia. Kudos to him, as I don’t think I could be asked myself.

Seems like the good upbringing does not help athletes a great deal.

M: You just need to be a thick skinned bastard, a hoodlum. Janek takes every goal conceded to heart It’s not like I didn’t, but on the other hand I knew that letting in a sloppy goal or two is the integral part of the trade. He tends to dwell on it for too long and that’s self-destructive.

But no one is as much of a dancer as he is. Janek even came 6th in the national competition. Did Wojtek dance too?

M: Sure he did!

W: ‘I attended the dance classes’

M: As far as goalkeeping is concerned, Wojtek eats us all alive, as far as dancing goes, neither of us is fit to tie Janek’s shoelaces. With him on the floor, I stay put.

W: I don’t have too much grace either. I take it from my daddy.

M: You are nowhere near my grace.

Your dad liked to play for himself ‘a whole goddamn lot’. Who do you play for, yourself or the supporters?

W: For myself, but it’s the supporters who cause the adrenaline rush. I can give it even more thanks to them.

M: A game with the supporters is a whole different level of emotions.

W: I prefer playing away games. The people inside the ground want you to concede. At home, if you concede, they will usually give you a little pat on the back and say ‘Don’t worry’.

M: Has the approach of the supporters towards the goalies changed in Britain? When I played games in Blackburn and Aberdeen, they booed and prayed for me to let one in. After they game they would congratulate me if I had a good game and give me a standing ovation. It was well nice. On the other hand, I would think to myself ‘Where the fuck do I live?’. These people were not disappointed with me making the save, but with their player not scoring. It’s different in Poland. You might even get stones thrown at you.

W: The approach is pretty much the same. But I had this funny thing happening to me once. We played at home, I had my own supporters behind my back in the first half, and the away lot for the second. When I got between the sticks I saw them all applauding me and gesturing how good I was. I nodded to say thank you and they went like ‘Ooooooooww’. They just had me on like a mug and I fell for it.

Did the young ones have the opportunity to do the father-and-sons kickabouts?

M: When they were born I had no strength or even the idea to go out with them and play the ball in the park. I used to train for a few hours a day and I thought it was enough. But I always appreciated that Wojtek would play with 14 year olds being half their age. What he lacked in physique department, he would make up with dedication and heart. Like a fucking bulldog he was.

What is he better at today?

M: Golf. Probably because I have only played once. If I was to spend money, patience and time launching little balls for them to land in a specific spot, just to chase after the fucking things afterwards, I would go mad. I spent too much time dealing with the balls flying my way, not away from me.

W: Cut to the chase dad, not afraid to respond, are you?

M: Like father, like son. Wojtek is definitely better playing in the box. I was one of these who preferred to stay on the line, as when I rushed out I would always demolish another player, including my own team mates, most often Marek Jóźwiak. Just like me, Wojtek can read the game well, anticipating the opposition’s next possible move. When he catches the ball he already knows where to ‘expedite’ it – I love that word (laughs). I was always like that and I thought it was always my forte, not always fully appreciated by the coaches. He can also play well with his legs and I was not too shabby in that respect either. And he is calm and laid back, that’s important.

W: When I was 8, a journalist asked me what were my dad’s weak points and I said it would be the penalties.

M: True, I did not save too many of them. However, if there is a single thing I am prepared to agree with Tomaszewski on, it is that there are no saved pens, only those poorly struck.

Do you have any flaws in common?

M: I reckon we are both susceptible to go into the comfort zone after making a good save. I used to concede a fair number of goals because of that. A save, a pat on the back and then a goal. I was off my toes and not focused properly. I don’t know if I am guessing this right, but whenever Wojtek pulls off a good save he thinks to himself ‘Fuck, I’m good’ and then ‘Why would I celebrate like a mug, it’s supposed to be normal for me to save this’

W: Ha ha ha ha ha ha

M: So, I can read that face pretty well, eh? I know that expression as I had the same. If someone knew me, he would know when I was the easiest to score against.

W: Apart from that little flaw we are quite perfect.

Back onto the slippers subject…

W: We would always walk around the house wearing just socks. Dad hated that. When mum would hear the entry phone ringing she would go: ‘Dad’s coming! Put the slippers on!’

M: Does not say stuff about me or you two as much as says about your mum (laughs). Although it has to be said that Ala did admirably well fostering the two rascals. As you can see, not the easiest of jobs.

W: Mum cared about our mental health by the way of giving us the freedom of choice!

M: All I wanted is basically a tidy house. It’s like I hate the shirt sticking out on one side, as you don’t really know whether the idea was to have it tucked in or not. You should have decided to either wear these slippers or not. Consistently.

You just protected the goalies’ feet!

W: We never stepped into anything to do ourselves any harm.

M: Certainly thanks to me being at home and making you wear these slippers. In the aftermath of our discussion about the consistency I had a phone call from 14 year old Wojtek who was on his way to the national youth team camp: ‘Daddy, got any gloves at home?’, I went ‘No, but you are supposed to be a goalkeeper! Why don’t you have them with you?’, to which he responded ‘Mum has not put them in the bag’.

W: I was a keen student back then. Had too much on my mind.

Has mum packed your stuff today?

W: I am a grown man now.

M: Better late than never.

How long do the gloves last?

W: One pair used to last me a season. These days it’s two weeks. Thing is that dad used to buy them, and he is not the keenest of shoppers, so I had to make do.

M: I like you too.

Your biggest bollocking ever?

W: Me and my brother wanted to win a Seat car for our mum in some premium rate number ‘lottery’. So, we phoned them every day for about a month. The bill came and dad blew his top. The amount was something else.

M: Not a lot less than how much the actual car was worth. Just your everyday childish stupidity, can happen to everyone.

Do people still think of Wojtek as ‘that overconfident buffoon’?

W: I think you should change people whether they have changed or not. I believe people are generally just scared of the confident people. That’s why I prefer to ‘scare’ with my character than avoid confrontation. Besides, being a Szczesny is a responsibility – our family’s confidence stems from honesty, not some cynical play.

M: If one is critical towards himself, one has the right to say his opinion out loud.

W: If I think I had a great game, why would I say I am ‘so-so’ happy and that it’s been better? Nonsense.

M: You can always stick to the football interview template and say that it’s not that relevant as it’s the team effort and result that counts.

W: Until recently, I thought my play was more important than the score. Now the things changed a bit, probably due to the points being at stake.

M: How relativist.

How do the English fans cope with your name?

W: No change there. Struggling heavily. I have recently earned the nickname ‘Ches’ to make everyone’s life easier.

And who calls your dad ‘Wawrzyniec’?

M: When Olo Moskalewicz heard my middle name was Wawrzyniec he almost pissed himself laughing. But he liked it so much he calls me Wawrzek until now.

W: My middle name is Tomasz. Now there’s a tongue-twister! Wojciech Tomasz Szczesny (laughs).

Does you car still bear the Polish number plates?

W: No change there. I have just bought a new car and it will be registered in Poland as well. There are some people in London that are not that keen on Poles, so far that feeling cost me one windscreen replacement and a good wash after it got pelted with eggs.

M: My son should put a massive white egg-shaped sticker with the letters ‘PL’ on his rear windscreen now.

W: Took it to another parking so that it would not be as visible. Should be enough.

Was your dad the guarantor at the bank?

M: Nobody asked me about zip when we were there, so I sure hope not. Wojtek can’t drive a 2 year old banger or his team mates will take the piss. He is upgrading his machines and that’s it.

Are you richer than your dad?

W: I am not going to put him to shame. Just write that I don’t know.

You seem to love your motors. Another family trait?

M: Oh yes. Maybe not quite the top thing, but passionate nevertheless.

W: We are at different stages. Dad likes the comfort, I like a good bling.

M: Comfort? In a Forrester? I might disagree here. But I can go wherever I want. Yours is more of a prestige and luxury thing.

W: Can’t get wherever I want in it though.

Do the girls look at you differently since you became an Arsenal player?

W: They never did and never will. We are one ugly family.

M: I never knew my son had such complex.

W: Besides, there’s just one girl. The others don’t count.

Our regards then. Who would you like see on the centrefold?

W: Just her

M: As far as I know, she’s just a kid. She has just reached 16, let’s take her out of the equation, shall we? She has no voting rights.

W: In that case, let’s say, Żmuda-Trzebiatowska.

How did you feel when you saw your dad in that perfume advert?

W: Cool. All mates are having a laugh. At last I’ve got to see him on the big screen, feels like I bought myself a big screen TV.

M: I’ve got bigger as well, don’t you forget that.

Now, onto the question we have to ask: who will be the best GK in the World Cup?

W: Casillas is my bet. Spain will win the thing, so Iker will be the best by default.

M: I don’t think so. He had a bit of a dip in form recently, but Spain is certain to win it. If VDS was to play in the tournament, he would be the best. But he is not playing…

W: What about Hugo Lloris?

M: No idea what that fuss about Lloris in Britain is all about. For me, he’s a wimp. If Buffon is on song he should do a good job too. Despite the common perception that it’s hard to score against the Italians, I reckon he may be quite busy there.

Jan Mucha?

W: Definitely the one to be the busiest of them all.

M: He has a chance to be one of the tournament’s top three GKs. All he needs to do is to present the form we all saw in autumn. Legia’s position in the table is all of his doing.

‘This is the real heckler’s bench. The simple, the simpler and the simpletons’. Who said that and about whom?

W: Definitely dad. Maybe about ‘Szybka piłka’ or ‘Żyleta’?

About the footballers.

M: It’s difficult to consider Malecki (Wisla Krakow player) in the former two categories. Dude walks out onto the stage at the theathre to collect the ‘Football Oscar’ in the ‘Discovery of the season’ category and goes ‘This award will give me even more charisma’. I’ve had it there and then. Got drunk unconscious that night.

W: When I am 45, I will be in the witticism business like dad is now. For the time being, it is my belief that my mates are the greatest and I have plenty of respect for them.

M: What a… cheeky bugger.

SUGA3: If you have got that far, there is nothing left for me to do but to thank you for reading! Guess it was worth it…

23 comments

  1. […] Or how about your read Suga from the comments super translation of an interview with young upstart Chezzer? Or how about your read a post about some new Arsenal songs […]


  2. Great read! Thanks for making the effort to translate it 🙂


  3. […] Or how about your read Suga from the comments super translation of an interview with young upstart Chezzer? Or how about you read a post about some new Arsenal songs […]


  4. Seb,

    Thank you very much, it was quite an effort to make it as enjoyable read as it was in the original version!

    am I better than Google Translate or what? 😆


  5. and now i wanna see tits!


  6. Lurch,

    how about when we win the league?

    you will see all sizes and shapes then! 😆


  7. Fantastic read. Thank you for taking the time to translate for us 🙂


  8. Chezzer is brilliant, i can see how much of an influence his dad is & bringing him up with that passion. Thanks for taking the time SUGA!. I’m with Lurch though ;).


  9. Excellent interview and a very readable translation–must have taken time as it was long! Thanks Suga.


  10. Cheers guys, it was quite readable in the Polish, so I was a bit surprised how long it really was when I got to translating it – about 5 hours of solid work, but it was worth the effort!

    needless to say, you are free to blog now…


  11. win the league!? lay off the coolaid Suga.

    i want tits now not in some distant future! 🙂


  12. damn you and your ‘here and now’ culture 😆

    wanted to give our lads something to play for, you know?

    does THIS make you happy?


  13. creamy! thats more like it!!


  14. Great fucking article SUGA. Best thing you’ve ever done.


  15. more to come, mate!

    articles, not boobs 😉


  16. yo fair play lad – wheres all the porn tho 😉


  17. haha!

    like I said, it was pretty discreet 😉

    the comments will give you the hint, plus, it’s nothing hardcore, just a classy ‘centrefold’ thing, since we were ‘PLAYBOY’ themed for a day…


  18. haha MAJOR THANKS for translating this m8, enjoyable read! Needless to say I’ve done fuck all at work today other than read this lol 😉 Hurrah for Chezzer!


  19. always happy to provide a worthwile distraction!

    next post is in the oven 😉


  20. Great read, thanks for the translation.


  21. glad to oblige…


  22. […] close out today’s post, I just wanted to share a link to an interview with Szczesny and his dad, Maciej Szczesny. Maciej was a goalkeeper for Legia Warszawa and the Poland National Team. The […]


  23. […] close out today’s post, I just wanted to share a link to an interview with Szczesny and his dad, Maciej Szczesny. Maciej was a goalkeeper for Legia Warszawa and the Poland National Team. The […]



Leave a Reply

