h1

Hammer time!

March 19, 2010

After some time without writing due to other commitments, I am back with a preview of the Saturday’s derby game – I am posting it a day earlier as I need to make my way to London today to do some work related stuff and I will be staying until Sunday because I am one of the lucky sixty thousand or so going to THOF tomorrow – I consider myself lucky as there doesn’t seem to be too many tickets available until the end of the season and I quite like WHU, especially after they did us a favour back in 2006. Besides, it is my first London derby, unless you count Chelsea v Charlton cup game a few years ago.

All sympathies aside, this is another cup final like game we need to win in order to stay within touching distance from the other two title contenders. Sure, they will drop points, but we need to gain on them if we are serious about winning the last (albeit the major one) domestic  trophy we still can. It will be interesting to see how our opponents will approach this game after getting humiliated at Stamford Bridge last week and even more so how will we, given the string of recent results and the squad brimming with confidence: as we all know, the line between confidence and complacency is very fine as far as this group of players is concerned and WHU have been a bit of a bogey team for us since we moved to the new stadium. I still remember us getting sucker punched by them when we should have mauled them and left them for dead in our first season there – I was at the pub full of their fans and they could not believe it either, honestly.

According to Our Glorious Leader, we will have our captain available for selection as well as Rosicky (both returning from injuries) and Song back from two game suspension caused by accumulating quite an impressive amount of yellow cards throughout the season. The only worry is that Billy is still injured and we will have to make do with one of the backup centre backs partnering Vermaelen – I have a hunch that this time it will be Sly to save impressive so far Sulzeer from fatigue, as this was showing a little bit in our last game. I may be wrong, as this time he had a whole week to recover and he may as well be raring to go in order to wash off the distaste left after storming out of Highbury during halftime last time he played them in Arsenal colours. The rest of back four pretty much picks itself with Clichy finally finding some form and Sagna looking good in the last game as well. In other areas we are almost at full strength – please feel free to think of your own favourites to start the game and I shall think of mine, I am guessing we would all come to pretty much the same conclusions anyway…

All of the sudden, it seems to be clicking into gear, don’t you think? It seems like all the underperforming players started playing like we all knew they could and like we fully expected them to – cynics may say that it largely coincides with the upcoming World Cup and the players’ willingness to get into their national coaches’ good books, I think I will stand by my own claim that they must have taken a long close look at themselves and considered criticism heaped on them by the fans, whose patience started wearing a little thin. It is really funny to see all the pundits who wrote us off a few times this season trying to back us up to win the title without looking like mugs – have to admit, I thought it would be between us and Chelsea this season but I was not too optimistic about us coming up trumps. Realistically speaking, we will probably finish a measly few points off the top, but hey, where is the fun in that? We will win the bloody thing – hell yes!!!

All I can do is keep my proverbial fingers crossed and sing my heart out tomorrow! I should be back with a game review on Sunday, but please forgive me if I get too wasted after the game and will not be able to string a few celebratory sentences together…

Come on you Gunners!!!

P.S. There is a small matter of Champions League draw today- bring’em on! 😀

6 comments

  1. so it’s Barcelona 😉

    like I said – bring’em on!!!


  2. I gotta say Suga, your avatar looks like the Lone Ranger 🙂


  3. heh, I know – must be the flash 😉


  4. mr cool himself suga me bad!!


  5. Zabawne, ponieważ jestem pewien, że nikt tego posta nie przeczyta.

    Zabawne ponieważ jest 00:09 kiedy to piszę i dziś gramy z Barcą. Bez połowy podstawowego składu na CN.

    Zabawne o tyle, że nie daję nam szans.
    Zabawne, o tyle,że ten mecz może wiele dla nas oznaczać.

    Czy, jesli poniesiemy klęskę nastąpią zmiany w filozofii Klubu? Zmieni się optyka patrzenia na niektóre sprawy?

    Wątpię. W zasadzie pogodziłem się z faktem, że ten sezon jest już stracony. Utwierdził mnie w tym Manuel Almunia swą interwencją na St. Andrews.

    No cóż to dopiero jego n-ta wpadka na przestrzeni 4 lat, gdzie n oznacza liczbę całkowitą większą niż 30.

    Z CN o godzinie 23:00 zejdziemy więc najprawdopodobniej ze świadomością, że była to dla nas kolejna lekcja. Tylko jak bolesna?

    Ile jeszcze lat bez trofeów?


  6. When is the next post Suga?

    Nothing to write about innit! 😀



Leave a Reply

