h1

Is this a déjà vu or have we come of age?

March 2, 2010

Welcome back after a good few days without a word – change of my daily routine caused by the recent job switch left me a little bit distracted and I just did not feel like writing stuff just for the sake of it, as for the weekend, I was busy helping my friends move house, hence no match preview and post game analysis – I promise to make amends this week with a good game preview ahead of the next home game against Burnley and hopefully a jolly post match piece.

While I’ve been away, we have obviously beaten Stoke at the expense of Ramsey’s injury – all I can say is I want him to get well soon and I hope any sane football fan is with me on this. As for you, Mr Shawcross, you are a shitkicking, disgraceful sorry excuse for a footballer and you do not deserve to play in the world’s best football league, simple as.

Just like in that Taylor on Eduardo situation, Arsenal player was supposedly ‘too fast’ for ‘honest English lad without an ounce of malice in him’. Well, let me put it this way: in some countries the authorities will ask you to pass additional exam before issuing you with a driving licence for a car or bike above certain engine size or power – this is just common sense, as allowing people to operate machinery they are not capable of operating is simply dangerous for them and anyone within close range. Ryan Shawcross playing football at this level is like someone who drove a Nissan Micra all his life and has been asked to drive a supercar in a street race with the big boys – dents, scratches and all that. This time however, it’s more than a bit of a paint swap: our amateur driver caused extensive damage to a very rare specimen and it will take much more time in the garage to get it back on the road all purring and raring to go. My point is that if you are too ‘slow’ to play in this league then you pose danger to players with genuine talent and should ply your trade in a lower division.

I would not want football to become a non contact sport, but a red card and three game ban for someone who just took out one of the hottest talents in world’s football for a season is just laughable. Proper action must be taken against the players who like to ‘let them know they’re there’, which may sadly end up in a potentially career threatening injury. When Taylor broke Eduardo’s leg, someone said he should have been banned for as long as Dudu takes to recover to full fitness – taking our Crozilian’s fitness record since then into consideration, he would probably not be a footballer by now and you never know, such example would probably have saved Ramsey’s leg too!

Enough on that, now let’s move on to praising the good guys: despite looking shell shocked, players got their shit together and managed an emphatic win against our latest bogey team. That is what I am talking about, gentlemen! Now keep this up and show that you have matured and you can win as many of the remaining games as possible and you never know, we may just nick it.Three points behind the first placed Chelsea does not look like a mountain to climb and if we will do better than the leaders trying to contain City at home and mash them Spuds at WHL, then it may become close enough to get excited…

Question is: do we have it in us?

Comparisons between now and the situation from two years ago are all too obvious as a broken leg and some properly dubious officiating in the Champions League leave some of us a bit sceptical – some may say we have all been there before, and there is no point in getting our hopes too high not get disappointed, but hey, where is the fun in that? Like I said before, it’s all about expecting your team to win, or at least to give it a hell of a go and I will never accept anything less. We have shown that we can overcome the pressure and win an important game,  now it is all about building on it: we are entering a period where we play totally winnable games and aiming for 12 points and CL progression in March is not too much to ask, is it? This would allow us to enter the business end of the season on the boil and maybe, just maybe, surprise a few.

Thank you for reading and thank you for dropping by when I was ‘away’ for so long, now that I have caught a bit of rhythm in the new place I may be able to write a bit more. I will be back with a Burnley game preview and maybe one more post before that if I find enough time to write – still getting my head around all the new stuff at work and all that. Good news is that I no longer have to work on weekends and it will allow me to go to more games, starting with West Ham on the 20th…

One comment

  1. […] need to remind anyone what happened last time we travelled to Britannia Stadium, is there? I had my say on the subject last year and I don’t think there is much of a need for me to repeat myself. […]



Leave a Reply

