h1

Prove me wrong. I dare you. I double dare you.

February 5, 2010

Most of the Arsenal fans have somewhat recovered from that punch drunk feeling left after the Sunday disaster and the general spirit amongst our ranks is on the cautious rise, compared to the time earlier this week, when it was really hard to find any positives.

Few days later, I am strangely upbeat about the next encounter, despite all the facts, statistics and the like suggesting that I may as well not bother to watch the third episode of the ‘do or die’ series. Irrational? Yes. Delusional? Possibly. However, sometimes there is nothing rational about the funny old game and I still think that we can go there and nick the result (a draw or even a win). Some of you could be excused for asking ‘is that so?’ – I will say, quoting the cheesy US presidential election slogan: yes we can! Read on to find out why…

Firstly, this team has really nothing to lose as no one gives us a chance to get anything out of it, simple as. Funnily enough, this team tends to do extremely well when there is nothing at stake or when every Tom, Dick and Harry has written them off. AC Milan away game springs to mind as an example: ‘no British team has won there before’, ‘they only drew at home’, ‘thousands of fanatical tifosi will scare the life out of them’ were just a few facts and opinions before the trip to San Siro. We all know how it ended, right? As far as I am concerned, Chelsea is nothing but Premiership’s version of Rossoneri, heck, they even got themselves the same manager. Still not on the way down like Milan, but you could draw quite a few other analogies there. Back to the subject: this set of players somehow fares much better when they are considered underdogs – if I was to find a reason for it, I would think of the special kind of youthful arrogance, which tends to put less matured individuals into the ‘we will show you’ mode.Β  Will that be enough to prevail over the cool, boring efficiency presented by the set of mean ol’ pros? It just may…

Another reason for having a good feeling about this is that OGL did not come up with the usual ‘lack of sharpness’ lines in the post match interview. He just knew there was no hiding from it, we have been beaten fair & square. Scarce reports from the training ground say that he does not look too impressed and you would think that Le Hairdryer may be in the full flow. After period of praising, pampering and defending the indefensible, Arsene may be a bit disillusioned and he might just have drawn a little table of two columns with thumbs up icon on one side and the opposite on the other. They say to never underestimate a good person’s anger and the underperforming players must be feeling that they could have done well with adhering to the above – some people make the common error of confusing kindness with weakness and the resulting wrath of the benefactor is usually not a pretty sight, as much as it is deserved. Going back to the carrot and stick analogy: the hand that feeds you the former, usually has a very tight grip and a good swing on the latter, once bitten. Frankly, I wouldn’t blame Le Boss for telling some that they are ‘playing for their dear lives’ and I have to point out that not a single player had a career worth mentioning after being dumped by all-too-patient Wenger.

Note to players: being a reasonable and realistic person, I often find myself in the position to say ‘I told you so’. This time, I wholeheartedly want to be proven wrong. Show me that you care. Show me that you are worth these exorbitant salaries and pay rises. Show me that you have cojones. Give us something to cheer about. I dare you…

Thank you for reading!

11 comments

  1. Before every game I would brag of our prowess. And after every defeat I would call for the manager to be sacked. This sunday am watching with one eye closed.
    Good post there.


  2. thanks…

    I am all for giving them a benefit of the doubt once more – should they fail, all hell will break loose πŸ˜‰

    β€œSome people think football is a matter of life and death. I assure you, it’s much more serious than that.”

    Bill Shankly


  3. hey suga3, great read, 2-1 away win πŸ™‚


  4. so I hope πŸ˜‰

    as I said – it’s better to be underdogs for this lot…


  5. just like last season suga, underdogs to say the least then grabbed a 2-1 win… πŸ™‚

    catch you tomorrow – somewhere πŸ™‚


  6. laters, rico πŸ˜€


  7. CzeΕ›Δ‡ Suga!

    Great post today.I feel the same. We are in the last chance saloon.If we lose, it’s bye, to the title hopes.With Clownunia in goal and without any proper forward up front I don’t feel comfortable at all. It will be a flo win at the Bridge, so I don’t hold my breath.I will not watch this match. I will be too nertvous.Hope we win, though.

    P.S. Wenger has told that he was very close to signing a player. Do You know who this player was. I have heard it was Sorensen.

    All the best Suga.


  8. *it will be a fluke win. Sorry.


  9. frankly, I don’t think it would be anything but damage limitation if we lose – but hell, we’ll spank them! πŸ˜†

    nah, just kidding – will be as tough as it gets, players should know that they are playing for their careers, so no pressure there πŸ˜‰

    as far as I am concerned, AW should not have even said that – being close to signing someone is not something to write home about, poor show IMO…


  10. Howdy Suga


  11. I’m good, gnarley πŸ˜‰

    sorry I didn’t reply any earlier, had to write the post, then go to work on Saturday for the last time…



Leave a Reply

